Truett McConnell University (TMU) honored students, faculty, and staff for their achievements through a virtual Honor’s Week in social media and a Facebook Live Honor’s Chapel service on April 21.

“We celebrate our students and their academic achievements this week,” said Dr. Brad Reynolds, Vice President for Academic Services. “What a testimony! In a world where education/learning has been cheapened in many ways, TMU and her students stand as a beacon for learning, for education, and for truth. And that beacon has beamed ever so brightly this week with the accomplishments of these amazing students! We could not be prouder.”


TMU acknowledged 48 students who were members of the President’s List, the Dean’s List, or both lists, for five consecutive semesters. Five students, who maintained a 4.0 GPA, joined the President’s Club. The Dean’s List cited seven students who earned a 3.5 or higher GPA, and 36 students earned citation on both the President’s Club and the Dean’s List.

President’s Club citations include: Sara Frances Chappell, Ethan Bradley Shaffer, Shane Joseph Smith, Katherine Diane Stringham, and Harris Anne Walker.

Citations for both the President’s Club and the Dean’s List include: Jerry Dwain Adair, Grace Louise Aste, Allie Jordan Barnes, Reagan Nicole Benson, Laura Rae Bertelson, Kiley Leigh Blackburn, Emily Grace Blair, Zachary Bratz, Hannah Rebecca Brooks, Wimberly Blalock Burch, Samantha Blanche Camp, Caleb Jason Day, Savannah Lee Everard, Lillian Angee Firth, Tessa E Fruhwirth, Marissa Katherine Harkins, Jordan Kate Henshaw, Jerry Ellis Hughes, Hannah Marie Jordan, Mallorie Grace Keel, Hannah Victoria Kerr, Brie Autumn Levy, Andrew James Mattison, Jennifer L McCall, Jaden Kennedy Morrison, Claire Olivia Mudd, Anna Lillian Mumpower, Will Morgan Myers, Milly Namukasa, Shane Pauley, Alexandria Susan-Jill Perrotta, Katie Elizabeth Southern, Christin Taylor Stanley, Sara Margaret Sullivan, Zachary Luke Ware, and Lauren A West.

Dean’s List citations: Alexis Neve Carter, Katelynn Opal Davenport, Lacy Faith Frost, Calvin Lee Johnson, Jessica Michelle Lanier, Elizabeth Shannon Legg, and Primruth Nakajiri.

The following nine students were selected for “Who’s Who”: Grace Aste, Megan Burke, Rachel Durham, Lauren Flowers, Tessa Fruhwirth, Ima Virginia Justus, Angela Maureen Martin, Milly Namukasa, and Kirsten Starling. These students were recognized for a 3.5 or higher GPA and whose character, participation in extracurricular activities, and community service is above average.

Sara Sullivan and Dalton Hardeman were honored with the Academic Excellence by Student Athlete award. Requirements for this award include: a minimum 3.3 overall GPA, demonstrated active participation in campus life activities, and significant contributions made toward team unity and success.

Students awarded from each school for Outstanding Academic Achievement are as follows:

The Hans Hut School of Business

Bachelor of Science in Business Administration – Sara Sullivan
Master’s of Business Administration – Martin Carnes

The Peter and Gredel Walpot School of Education

Bachelor of Science in Education – Ellen Brock

The Conrad Grebel School of The Humanities

Bachelor of Arts in English – Kirsten Ella Rae Starling
Bachelor of Arts in History – Hope Elisabeth James

The Felix Manz School of Music

Bachelor of Arts in Music – Emily G. Blair
Bachelor of Science in Music Education­ – Lauren Davis

The Martha Rielin and Elizabeth Salmen School of Nursing 

Bachelor of Science in Nursing – Sara Chappell

The Leonhard Schiemer School of Psychology and Biblical Counseling 

Bachelor of Science in Psychology – Brelyn Bell
Master of Arts in Professional Counseling – Tom Hennigan

The Michael Sattler School of Public Service 

Bachelor of Science in Criminal Justice – Alexandria Perrotta

The Pilgram Marpeck School of Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics

Bachelor of Science in Biology – Jordan Cornwell
Bachelor of Science in Exercise Science – Rebecca Ewing
Master of Science in Biology – Clara Elise Lombard

The Balthasar Hubmaier School of Theology and Missions 

Bachelor of Arts in Christian Studies – Grace Louise Aste
Bachelor of Arts in Global Studies – Rachel Durham
Bachelor of Arts in Interdisciplinary Studies – Jerry Dwain Adair
Master of Arts in Theology – John Didicher Pearson

Other TMU awards included:

Sigma Tau Delta (ΣΤΔ) Honor Society Member – Paige Akins, Morgan Lomax, Anna Skudarnova

Sigma Beta Delta – Dalton Armistead, Evan Bensch, Reagan Benson, Joshua Johnston, Justin McCarty, Corey Moon, Jadon Morrison, Primruth Nakajiri, Milly Namukasa, Luke Peavy, Camren Rowland, Ethan Shaffer, and Sara Sullivan

Second Mile Service Award – Makennah Hoifield and Kyle Lance

Student Leadership Award – Emma McGee

Presidential Achievement Award 2020 – Mrs. Melissa Fortner, Mrs. Jessica Stribling, Mrs. Tammy Mize

Honorary Doctor of Divinity – Mrs. Sylvia Bowen Palmer

Vulcan Materials Award 2020 – Professor Dennis Allen and Professor Nan Allen

Award for Faculty Excellence 2020 – Dr. Richard Fowler


Jenny Gregory is the Digital Content Specialist for TMU Marketing and Communications.

Return to News Archive