The Truett-McConnell Bears will play in the Appalachian Athletic Conference effective the academic year 2013-2014.  Read the press release from the AAC below.

Visit the AAC website.

“(Asheville, NC)  The Appalachian Athletic Conference Council of Presidents voted yesterday to admit SCAD Atlanta (GA) into membership effective the 2012-2013 academic year and to admit Truett-McConnell College (GA) effective 2013-2014.

“We are very pleased to welcome both SCAD Atlanta and Truett-McConnell College to the AAC,” said John Sullivan, AAC Commissioner.  “These two schools are relatively new to the NAIA but they both have shown that they are committed to the principles of character-driven collegiate athletics that is a hallmark of this Conference.  SCAD Atlanta currently offers a limited number of sports for men and women but with the rapid growth of the institution since 2005 and its inception in Atlanta has the potential to add more sports in the future.  Truett-McConnell has experienced tremendous growth over the past few years and has a full range of sports with plans for future expansion.”

The AAC, an affiliated conference within the NAIA, consists of ten colleges and universities in Tennessee, Virginia, Georgia, Kentucky, North Carolina and South Carolina.  Member institutions include: Bryan College, Columbia College (SC), Milligan College, Montreat College, Point University, Reinhardt University, St. Andrews University, Tennessee Wesleyan College, Union College (KY) and Virginia Intermont College.


Return to News Archive