Truett-McConnell College held its fifty-ninth annual commencement service in the gymnasium on Saturday, May 5, at 10:00 AM. 


   The invocation was delivered by Cory Baldwin, head men’s basketball coach and instructor in health and physical education at Truett-McConnell. Mr. Jack D. Smith of Cartersville, a trustee of the college, prayed the benediction. The academic procession was led by faculty marshal, Dr. Larry McDonald, recipient of the 2007 Award for Faculty Excellence.


   The commencement speaker was Rev. Barry Thompson, executive pastor of Mount Vernon Baptist Church in Atlanta. Rev. Thompson spoke from a unique perspective: as an alumnus, as the parent of an alumnus, and as a TMC trustee and current chairman of the Board of Trustees. He talked to the graduating class straight from his heart about the importance of maintaining their bonds with Truett-McConnell College, the small college that made such a big difference in their lives.


   Mr. Jeff Hunt, representing Community Bank and Trust, presented the H. M. Stewart Award to the co-valedictorians of the 2007 class of associate’s degree candidates: Christy Nicole King and Casey D. Tucker.


   The president of Truett-McConnell College, Dr. Jerry W. Pounds, Sr., presented degrees to 33 candidates for associate’s degrees and six candidates for bachelor’s degrees. 

May 5, 2007
The following degrees were awarded in the fifty-ninth annual commencement of Truett-McConnell College on May 5, 2007:
Associate in Arts Associate in Christian Studies
John Thomas Broadway Mary Elizabeth Brannon 
Matthew Allen Geers       (magna cum laude)
Jason Peter Hutto
Christy Nicole King Associate in General Studies
     (summa cum laude) Noel A. Abrego
Caleb Carlton Pope Robert Jeffrey Allen
Kelsey Elizabeth Smith Suzanne Leigh Bell
     (summa cum laude) Daniel Matthew Blalock
Morgan Terri Spencer Taylor Land Brown
Jancy Kay Steele      (magna cum laude)
     (magna cum laude) Daniel R. Harris
Evan Charles Waddy      (cum laude)
Susan Allison Webb Roland Jackson Maddox
     (magna cum laude)      (cum laude)
Philip Warren Sanders
       (magna cum laude)
Casey D. Tucker
     (summa cum laude)
   Associate in Arts with

Concentration in Education

Sheena Hope Barron  Associate in Music
     (magna cum laude) Tabitha Lynn Pritchett
Mary Elizabeth Brannon Taylor Curt Welborn
     (magna cum laude) Brandon Michael Williams
Stephanie Lauren Cole
     (summa cum laude)  Associate in Science
Courtney Lynne Cooper Brenton Ross Book
     (cum laude)      (cum laude)
Tabitha Lynn Pritchett Ashley Nicole Mathis
Associate in Business  Bachelor of Arts in Music
Samantha Cassie Cash Paul Christopher Dockins
Paul Andrew Sweeney      (magna cum laude)
Tara Elizabeth Sweeney Roy Andrew Ferguson
     (cum laude) Amanda Megan Hearington
     (magna cum laude)
Bachelor of Arts in Music with Jana Lynn Parks
Concentration in Church Music      (cum laude)
William Maxwell Buchanan
     (cum laude)
Stephen Andrew Folker
Return to News Archive