Academic Honors Day
at Truett-McConnell

by Vicky Kaniaru

CLEVELAND, Ga. (TMCNews) —Truett-McConnell College honored students, faculty, and staff for their achievements during the 2011-2012 academic year April 26.

TMC acknowledged 53 students who were members of the President’s List, the Dean’s List, or both for three or more semesters. Thirteen students, who maintained a 4.0 GPA, joined the President’s Club. The Dean’s List cited 16 students who earned a 3.5 or higher GPA, and 24 students earned ciation on both the President’s Club and the Dean’s List.

President’s Club citations: Courtney Barnard, Denisha Beasley, Stephanie Blankenship, Tiffany Caporale, Matthew Groover, Heather Guest, Matthew Mazzoni, Chalice Price, Eric Robbins, Ricky Rowell, Corinna Smith, and James Smith.

Dean’s List citations: Brandon Allen, Angela Brooks, Hannah Bullard, Kaley Collett, Hayden Fleming, Jessie Frye, Joshua Garner, Marjorie Grindle, Henry Harbuck, Benjamin Haywood, Marla Johnson, Traci Lawson, Hillary Ledford, Joy Smith, Rachel Wilson, and Kristin Young.

Citations for both the President’s Club and the Dean’s List: Emilie Brady, Brittany Brown, Lauren Brown, Neeley Butler, Ashley Davis, Charity Estes, Daniel Gentry, Chelsea Godwin, Jonathan Hill, Justin House, Craig Layton, Susan Martin, Christopher McKean, Amy Moore, Macie Perry, Keith Raper, Lisa Raper, Debra Reese, Micah Risinger, Stephany Sance, Krista Stone, Hayle Swinson, and Josiah Welch.

Chalice Price and Matthew Groover each earned an award for academic excellence by student athletes.

The five students noted for their names on the list, “Who’s Who Among American Colleges and Universities” are Traci Lawson, Joshua Rumphol, and Haley Swinson. These students were recognized for a 3.3 or higher GPA, their academic commitment, and for community service.

Each TMC academic division also honored students who exemplified outstanding academic achievement. The following 12 students were recognized: World Missions/ Christian Studies Division; Courtney Barnard, Education/Behavioral Sciences Division; Neely Butler, Bachelor of Arts in Humanities with a concentration in History; Joy Dingler, World Missions/Christian Studies Division; Matthew Groover, Humanities – Bachelor of Arts in History; Ben Haywood, Music/ Fine Arts Division – Instrumental Music Major; Marla Johnson, Bachelor of Arts in Humanities with a concentration in English; Traci Lawson, Music/Fine Arts Division – Vocal Music Major; Chalice Price, Math/Natural Sciences Division; and, Crystal Thomas, Business Division.

Three students were honored with student services awards: Jessica Gelineau, Intramural Leadership Award; Hayden Flemming, Student Leadership Award; and Justin Leech and Jason Sexton, Second Mile Service Award.

Three faculty and staff members were honored for their service to Truett-McConnell College. Becky Moore, director of financial aid, received the Presidential Achievement Award 2012; Holly Haynes, associate professor of behavioral sciences, received the Vulcan Materials Award 2012; and Tammy Mize, associate professor for education, received the Award for Faculty Excellence 2012.


Return to News Archive