KANSAS CITY, Mo. | Four Truett McConnell men’s basketball players were named 2016-17 Daktronics-NAIA Scholar-Athletes as announced by the league office prior to Monday’s semifinals of the National Championships. The Appalachian Athletic Conference had seven players recognized, four from TMU, two from Reinhardt and one from Point.

Brandon CerezolaDarius McNearCaleb Eppling and Jackson Britton were four of 175 Division II men’s basketball student-athletes to earn the honor.

The four men’s basketball players join 13 other TMU student-athletes to be named Scholar-Athlete in 2016-17.

In order to be nominated by an institution’s head coach or sports information director, a student-athlete must maintain a minimum grade point average of 3.5 on a 4.0 scale and must have achieved a junior academic status.

To learn more about the Daktronics-NAIA Scholar-Athlete award, click here.


Return to News Archive