Truett-McConnell College held its fifty-seventh annual commencement on Saturday, May 7, 2005, at 10:00 AM in the gymnasium.  Forty-two associate’s degrees were awarded, and the college awarded its first two bachelor’s degrees in the ceremony.

 Rich Terry, chairman of trustees (left), stands with Melissa Clanton (second from left), her parents (third and fourth from left), Matthew Papa (third from right), and his parents (at right). Clanton and Papa were honored as the recipients of the first two bachelor’s degrees ever awarded by the college.

The two students receiving the bachelor’s degrees, Melissa Sue Clanton of Fayetteville and Matthew Michael Papa of Gainesville, received framed certificates designating them members of the first-ever class of bachelor’s degree candidates of Truett-McConnell College.  Their parents were recognized also.

Guest speaker for the commencement was Dr. J. Robert White, Executive Director of the Georgia Baptist Convention, who challenged the graduates not to run away from life.  He said:  “It does make a difference which way you go.”  He used the example of John the Baptist from Scripture to exhort the graduates to display the qualities of humility, honesty, and holiness in their lives.

 Dr. J. Robert White, Executive Director of Georgia Baptist Convention, was the guest speaker.












On behalf of the Board of Trustees, Board chairman Richard L. Terry presented the first two trustees emeriti ever named by the Board: Joe T. Wood, Sr., and James F. Bagwell, both of Gainesville.  Each of these men has served more than one term on the Board of Trustees of Truett-McConnell, and both come from long-standing family traditions of involvement with Truett-McConnell.


The Board of Trustees also honored Donald E. Stanley upon the occasion of his retirement from the college after more than 32 years of service with the presentation of a framed certificate designating him Vice President for Business Affairs Emeritus.


The following students received degrees:


Associate in Arts
  Annie Elisabeth Andrews LaGrange, GA
  Jessica Leia Berry Fayetteville, GA Magna cum laude
  Steven Shawn Crenshaw Newnan, GA Magna cum laude
  Lacey Gail Daniels Dahlonega, GA
  Karis Elizabeth Fowler Clarkesville, GA Cum laude
  Joshua T. Griggs Gainesville, GA Cum laude
  Jason Ashley Johnson Smyrna, GA
  Alison Charity Kinney Clermont, GA
  Kyle Lee Nelson Marietta, GA
  Kelly Allison Nettles Suwanee, GA Magna cum laude
  William Franklin Nix Cleveland, GA
  John Derek Partridge, Jr. Hephzibah, GA Cum laude
  Henry Grant Peabody Macon, GA
  Lee Michael Smith Douglasville, GA
  Trevor Hamilton Smith Clarkesville, GA
  Kristin Leigh Stidham Fayetteville, GA
  Candace Whitworth Gainesville, GA
  Joshua Ryan Wyatt Dahlonega, GA
Associate in Arts (Concentration in Education)
  Sheila Diane Edwards Cornelia, GA Magna cum laude
  Nicholas Frank Gentile Flowery Branch, GA
  Tara Nicole Kidd Cleveland, GA
  Katie Rana Malcom Americus, GA
  Jennie Leigh Rice   (two degrees) Toccoa, GA
Associate in Business
  Jordan Asher Armstrong Clarkesville, GA
  Robert Clay Kelly Dillard, GA
  Mark Allen White Alpharetta, GA
  Johnny Cody Wiley Alto, GA Cum laude
  Jennie Leigh Rice  (two degrees) Toccoa, GA
Associate in Christian Studies
  Joseph Tristan Hurley Atlanta, GA
Associate in General Studies
  Heather Marie Allen Thomson, GA
  Danielle Lynn Boone Cleveland, GA
  Shawn Paul Breinlinger Dahlonega, GA
  Alicia Renee Daniel Athens, GA Magna cum laude
  William Frank Jackson Brevard, NC
  Whitney Susann Ledford Cleveland, GA
  Natalie Gail Lehmann Snellville, GA Cum laude
  Nicholas Chad Owens Toccoa, GA Cum laude
  Patrick Blake Ryan Newnan, GA
  Jason Marshal Wisdom Dacula, GA
Associate in Music
  Christopher Lamar Willis Carrollton, GA
Associate in Science
  Stephanie Ann Bowden Conyers, GA Summa cum laude
  Jonathan Edward Ostrosky Cleveland, GA
Bachelor of Arts in Music (Concentration in Church Music)
  Melissa Sue Clanton Fayetteville, GA Cum laude
  Matthew Michael Papa Gainesville, GA Magna cum laude



Faculty lead the academic procession as it approaches the gymnasium with the faculty marshal, Dr. Roy Hardy carrying the college’s mace in front of the procession The graduating class of 2005 stands in place as the faculty marshal takes his seat following the academic procession.



























Return to News Archive