Verse copy

 instagram-button-48youtube-48x48linkedin 48FacebookButtonTwitterbutton


The Truett-McConnell College Alumni Awards recognize . . .
Since 1989 the Truett-McConnell Alumni Association has honored deserving alumni each year with the Outstanding Alumnus Award and since 1995 with the Outstanding Young Alumnus Award. These awards recognize individual dedication to the college, exemplary service to God and man, strength of character and spirit, wisdom that evokes vision, ambition that accepts and overcomes challenges, and leadership that sets an example.

All alumni are invited to nominate fellow alumni for these awards. Nomination forms can be obtained on the college’s website at
Alumni Nominations or by request from the TMC Alumni Office at 706.865.2134, ext. 122. Nominations are reviewed by the Outstanding Alumnus Awards subcommittee of the Alumni Executive Committee, and the top candidates are presented to the Alumni Executive Committee for final decision and approval. The awards are presented annually during Alumni Weekend.


Outstanding Alumnus Award
(first award presented in 1989)
Presented annually to a TMC graduate (or former student who has completed a minimum of 30 hours at the institution), who has shown outstanding achievement in a specific field of endeavor, while exhibiting loyalty to and support of the college.
Academic Year Recipient of Outstanding Alumnus Award Class Year
1989-90 Mr. Al Dale (former ABC news bureau chief) 1961
1990-91 Dr. Myron Collins (orthopedic surgeon) 1956
1991-92 Dr. Robert N. Nash (former SBC missionary and seminary president in Philippines) 1956
1992-93 Dr. Billy Frye (chancellor, Emory University) 1950
1993-94 Mr. Larry Bryant (attorney) 1957
1994-95 Senator Hinton Mitchem (state senator, State of Alabama) 1958
1995-96 **Dr. Kenneth Barnes (Clayton County educator) 1955
1996-97 **Dr. Donald L. Folsom (Executive Director of Georgia Baptist Foundation) 1954
1997-98 **Rev. Claud Healan (former Director of Missions for Morgan, Appalachee and Mulberry Associations, GBC) 1954
1998-99 Mr. Michael Tull (president of I. W. Tull Sales Company) 1975
1999-00 Ms. Donna Kirby (former missionary to Hong Kong) 1959
2000-01 Rev. Robert Hatfield (Minister of Music, Dawson Memorial Baptist Church) 1969
2001-02 Mrs. Betty A. Walker (retired IMB missionary) 1960
2002-03 Dr. Jerry C. Davis (President of College of the Ozarks) 1963
2003-04 Dr. J. Donald Carroll (retired Director of Missions) 1954
2004-05 Award Not Given  
2005-06 Award Not Given  
2006-07 Award Not Given  
2007-08 Award Not Given  
2008-09 Mr. Ryan A. Bowman (Chick-Fil-A Training Consultant) 1994
2009-10 Dr. Diego S. Humphrey (Cardiologist) 1979
2010-11 Col. Ronald Trotman (former Air Force Colonel) 1959
Not Awarded
Dr. Harris R. Malcom 1973

Outstanding Young Alumnus Award

(first award presented in 1995)
Presented annually to a TMC alumnus who has graduated/attended whithin the past ten years, selected on the basis of personal achievement and loyalty to the college.
Academic Year Recipient of Outstanding Young Alumnus Award Class Year
1995-96 Dr. Chris Childs (dentist in Gainesville) 1990
1996-97 Ms. Joy Parks (judge of White County Magistrate Court) 1988
1997-98 Mr. Stacy Butler (pharmacist and former international professional basketball player) 1988
1998-99 **Ms. Betsy Wynne (ADA Coordinator at the University of Georgia) 1992
1999-00 Mr. Jeremy Gates (Minister of Music in First Baptist Church, Eustis, Florida) 1994
2000-01 Rev. Johnathan Gray (pastor of Mt. Vernon Baptist Church, Fairburn) 1994
2001-02 Mr. Ben T. Bridges (music teacher with Bibb County Board of Education) 1995
2002-03 Ms. Allyson Harper (teacher of deaf/hearing impaired, Newnan High School) 1995
2003-04 Mr. Scotty J. Wilbanks (songwriter/professional musician) 1991
2004-05 Award Not Given  
2005-06 Award Not Given  
2006-07 Award Not Given  
2007-08 Award Not Given  
2008-09 Mrs. Katie Cooper Wyatt (Public School Music Teacher) 2006
2009-10 Dr. Joshua D. Kinsey (Pharmacist) 2001
2010-11 Award Not Given  
Award Not Given  
C. Derrick Holmes 2006

Meritorious Service Award

(first award presented in 1989)
Presented annually to a person (may be alumnus or not) who has shown loyalty and commitment to Truett-McConnell College through outstanding service, e.g., as a trustee, financial contributor, student recruiter, administrator, faculty member or some area of Christian service.
Academic Year Recipient of Meritorious Service Award
1989-90 Mr. Jack Holcomb and Dr. Louise Holcomb (former students, faculty members and administrators of TMC)
1990-91 **Mr. J. C. Driskell (former faculty member of TMC and benefactor of the TMC Baptist Student Union program)
1991-92 **Dr. Lounell Mullis (former faculty member)
1992-93 **Dr. Pearl Nix (charter faculty member, trustee and scholarship visionary)
1993-94 Dr. Truett Gannon (pastor, former president of Georgia Baptist Convention, former chairman of TMC Board of Trustees)
1994-95 **Mr. Earl Payne (former faculty member)
1995-96 Mr. Colby Tilley (former TMC women’s basketball coach)
1996-97 Mr. Rodney Fitzgerald (former TMC faculty member and administrator; current TMC adjunct instructor)
1997-98 Dr. Helen Adams (former faculty member and drama director)
  Award Not Given Since 1997-1998

Truett McConnell College at a Glance




  • 1